Board Structure

TUNA is a Utah-registered non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, governed by an elected Board of Directors. A quorum (over 50%) is required at each meeting to conduct business.

The Board is responsible for managing and directing TUNA programs and activities and for the financial health of the organization. Board members are elected at the annual Spring meeting (Salmon Bake). First-term Board members serve for a four-year term.  Subsequent terms run two years and a board member must stand for reelection and be put on the ballot.

TUNA Board members are expected to attend monthly Board meetings. The meetings are held at night (7 PM) the first Tuesday of each month, hosted on a rotation by individual Board members. If a Board member fails to attend three consecutive meetings without one-day prior notice, the Board member may be replaced. Board members are also expected to participate on one of the club’s sub-committees, help find volunteers for their committees, and produce plans and budgets for their responsible areas.

The officers of the club — President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer — are elected by the Board members at the first meeting after the spring election. Three Trustees or Advisers are also invited to all Board meetings, as well as our head coach. The current Board members and advisors are listed below.

Board Members

Officers: Email Phone
Tom Bonacci President 801-583-3449
Richard Hodges Vice-President 801-558-5804
Ron Sawdey Treasurer
Other Board Members:
Don Eggert Website & Online Store 801-382-7292
Julie Davenport
Chris Magerl Trails & Grooming 801-595-8293
Jen Santoro Editor: Media & News 433-864-6600
Stephanie Strohl Member Communications 801-860-3136
Eric Swanson Jr. Program Coordinator 801-582-9262
Isaac Wilson 801-624-7571
Dave Hanscom Wasatch Citizens Series 801-550-1777
Tim Metos 801-533-8671
David Susong 435-615-2726
Jr. Program Director:
Steve Cook Head Coach 801-647-0677